Big Green Egg - EGGhead Forum - The Ultimate Cooking Experience...
It doesn’t get much hotter than the EGG cookin’ in July! Make sure to keep yourself hydrated with a bit of whatever you’re using for the Beer Can Chicken. Ice Cream Sandwiches are also a great way to stay cool. Looking for some great ideas for a summer cook out? Try out a Pimento Cheeseburger or Dr. BBQ’s Spare Rib Surprise. Just don’t be surprised if your neighbors stop by for a quick bite when they smell what you’re cooking!

Big Green Egg headquarters has moved - come visit our new showroom and check out the museum and culinary center too! 3786 DeKalb Technology Parkway, Atlanta, GA 30340

Vegetable bean barley soup

Here is a recipe I have been working on for several years now. It all started as a challenge from my wife when I commented that a bowl of soup she heated (canned soup) tasted like the can and that I could "do better."[p]1 sweet onion chopped
4 celery sticks sliced thin
4 carrots sliced thin
1 big handful of fresh green beans
1/4 green pepper
1 cup broccoli tops in small bite size pieces
2 bay leafs
1/8 tsp sage
1 tsp basil
1 tsp oregano
1/8 tsp nutmeg
1.5 tsp Parsley
1 tsp garlic powder
1/8 tsp white pepper
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 lemon, juiced
32 oz vegetable broth
1 can (about 15 oz) white northern beans
1 can (about 15 oz) Pinto beans
1 can (about 15 oz) Garbanzo beans
1 can (about 15 oz) corn, drained
1 can (6 oz) tomato paste
1 can (about 15 oz) diced tomatoes
2 tsp honey
2 pinch cayenne pepper (small pinches)[p]Add above ingredients to large pot (I use a dutch oven), add water to top off pot, and simmer for about an hour. Add salt to taste at this point (I add about 1/4-1/2 tsp sea salt). Add about 3/4 cup barley and simmer another hour until barley softens. Serve hot. This makes quite a bit of soup and it is MUCH better the next day.[p]This meal provides complete protien and my kids love it. Try something new and enjoy![p]Banker John

·

Comments