Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Question for sausage makers - link making

Options
The question regarding the KitchenAid grinder and discussion about sausage links prompts me to ask this as I am an amateur when it comes to making links. Only tried it once so far with moderate success.

I used collagen casing to make breakfast sausage links. I managed to fill the casings loose enough to twist them into links with only one blow-out. But is there a trick to doing the twisting easily? I had some difficulty getting them twisted without the rest coming untwisted. I alternated directions like I had seen in Youtube vids - they made it look very simple. However, most were using natural casings.

Also, how do you keep them twisted together on the ends when you cut the links apart? I left mine twisted and froze them. I took them out of the freezer the next day and cut them apart to package, but they tend to blow out a little on the ends when I cook them. Perhaps this is just the nature of the beast, but I cannot help but wonder how store bought links maintain their shape so well?

Comments

• BigWader
    BigWader Posts: 673
    Options

Industrial sausage stuffers operate at high speed and can vary everything in minute details.  The sausage mix is pumped at specific pressures and the collagen casings are fed at exacting speeds to match.  If sausages are linked it is also high speed and mechanical.