Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

my ribs tonight...well...they SCREAMED!!!

Options
RRP
RRP Posts: 25,898
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I've been egging for 5+ years but grilling much longer than that. Most times my baby back ribs are good IMHO, but tonight they SCREAMED!!! It's kinda like finally getting a hole in one or something I suppose and maybe that's why I'm so excited tonight![p]Method: Nothing new nor original but here goes...
>rubbed with Ken Stone's Witchy Red and coated with yellow mustard one hour in advance
>indirect using my inverted plate sitter
>5 chunks of hickory for smoke
>following a version of JSlot's method the ribs went on, meat side up, when I had stablized a 300 degree dome temp
>3 hours at 300 degrees - NO PEEK, NO FLIP
>at that point I was going to foil, for 10 minutes and then shut down for 20 minutes HOWEVER...In checking the meat between the ribs with my Thermapen (let alone the tell-tale meat pulled back on the bone) they were in the 194 to 199 range.
>I removed from the BGE, brushed on some Wild Boar BBQ sauce and wrapped in foil and further wrapped in towels and placed in a cooler since it wasn't quite time for supper
>I swear those were the best - I MEAN THE BEST - ribs I've ever fixed and EATEN!!![p]Wanting a disclaimer??? As Gfw used to say "The best ribs are the ones you like"

Re-gasketing America one yard at a time.

Comments

• The Naked Whiz
    Options
    RRP,
    So, uh, overall, uh, how would you say they turned out?[p]LMAO! Did you save any for the rest of us? Did ya'?[p]TNW

The Naked Whiz
  • ChefRD