Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Smoked turkey ideas?

I need some smoked turkey ideas. Currently I brine for 24 hours in 1C kosher, 1C brown and 1 tbl peppercorns. Inject with creole butter and coat with Cajun seasoning and smoke with apple and hickory. 4 hours in the smoker and 1 in the oven. This is my first year with the BGE. I want to make it a thanksgiving to remember.

Comments

• Cook at 350 and cook to temp not time. White meat around 165 and dark around 175-180
  • Ragtop99
    Ragtop99 Posts: 1,570
    I'm doing my first, but from what I've read, adding a lot of wood, especially hickory , could result in a very heavily smoked taste. 
    Cooking on an XL and Medium in Bethesda, MD.
  • MastiffEggHead
    MastiffEggHead Posts: 2
    edited November 2012