Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Change Gasket on brand new egg

Cookin Corvette Doug
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Just purchased my first egg (XL BGE). Dealer recommended that I change to a Nomex gasket before it is ever fired up. Since I am new to this, any thoughts?

Comments

• Seems strange that the dealer didn't just do it for you. I would cook with standard gasket as long as you can then swap to the Nomex.

Will be interested in what others have to say.
  • milesofsmiles
    milesofsmiles Posts: 1,377
    That's inane. What Egg school did he attend? Cook on Doug. Go lo n slo for about 10 cooks, you'll be ok. Egg dealers, LMAO. He prob. never has seen "The Forum". I DO NOT know all and never will,but the forum teaches me every day so I can better serve my customers. :)
  • 2Fategghead
    2Fategghead Posts: 9,624
    CorvetteDoug wrote:
    Just purchased my first egg (XL BGE). Dealer recommended that I change to a Nomex gasket before it is ever fired up. Since I am new to this, any thoughts?

CorvetteDoug, Welcome to the forum a place where you will never stop learning.

I would think if the dealer said go to nomex before using your egg he would have changed it for you. :unsure:

I say why not use your egg and enjoy it's special goodness when cooking food. Then if you come across problems deal with it then.