Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Mastered Pizza Dough

Options
civil eggineer
civil eggineer Posts: 1,547
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I have been tinkering with pizza dough for 2 years much to the anger of my wife because my pizza's are to die for generally. Had my son's 27th birthday and daughters 1st year wedding anniversary party on Friday. Wife wanted pizza!

On thursday I made the dough now pay attention cause this is complicated.

Placed 1 packet of instant yeast in 2 Cups 120 degree water with 1 TBS sugar for about 1/2 hour until it was rapidly bubbling. Added 600g bread flour and 200g of all purpose flour and mixed thouroughly. Did not place any salt in the dough. Immediately placed in refridgerator and punched down twice over the next 24 hours. Allowed to warm up at room temperature for 4 hours after forming into 4 dough balls. Gently formed the pizza crusts.

That's it! Excellent flavor, nice airy texture, best crust to date after trying every variation imaginable.

Comments

• thechief96
    thechief96 Posts: 1,908
    Options
    Seems like even I might be able to do that. What did you mix it with?
    Dave San Jose, CA The Duke of Loney
  • Carolina Q
    Carolina Q Posts: 14,831
    Options
    What, Tim...no pressure cooker?! :)

Sounds simple enough - what kind of crust? New York? Pizza Hut? Neapolitan?