Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Brisket Cooking Temperature.

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I am an egg newbie. I've cooked many items on it over the last six weeks. We've had great meals and no problems. So I thought I'd give a real low and slow entree a try. I took a 6.6 lb. fresh brisket out of the refrigerator at 5:30 am this morning to come to room temperature. At 6:15 am I put a coating of yellow mustard on it and coated it with a dry rub.I put in on my large egg at 6:45 am this morning. It is now 8:00 pm and the polder is reading 170.I think my mistake was not knowing how to interpret the temperatures in the many recipes I researched. My question is this: What is the difference in dome temperature and the temperature at the cooking surface? I read somewhere that it could be 30 degrees difference? Another issue I have is that the dome temp moves up during cooking without changing either vent. I barley have the air vent and the daisy wheel open and the dome temp is 300 degrees. How do I get the temperature lower without closing off one or both vents?

Comments

• The Naked Whiz
    The Naked Whiz Posts: 7,777
    Options
    E. Michael Tann,