Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

First Butt Question

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I bought a 12lb boneless butt at my local meat market. This is my first time cooking a butt, so I don't have a lot of experience here.[p]When I removed the plastic wrap, it fell into two peices - one slightly larger than the other. I have put rub on both and they are back in the fridge until tomorrow night.[p]My plan was to coat w/ mustard (al la Brant), and cook indirect with a drip pan on top of a pizza stone around 250 dome until 200 internal. I have two Poulders. Should I just throw both peices of meat on and cook like I had originally planned? Will the smaller one finish before the large?[p]Any other advice? Thanks.[p]---
Steve[p]

Comments

• WessB
    WessB Posts: 6,937
    Options
    StevieD,
    Cook em just like you planned...12# is awful big for a butt..it was most likely 2 in 1 package..just put a polder in each and go for 195 to 200° internal individualy..they should finish real close to the same time..HTH[p]Wess

• The Naked Whiz
    The Naked Whiz Posts: 7,777
    Options
    WessB,
    I agree, either that was a butt 2-pack cryovac or would someone sell a butt and a picnic together, cut into 2 pieces?[p]TNW

The Naked Whiz
  • Unknown
    Options