Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

MAPP vs MAP Pro

Options
Buxwheat
Buxwheat Posts: 727
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I've been using MAPP for over 2 years now and my first two bottles of gas are empty. MAPP has been replaced by MAP Pro (for whatever reason: enviromental concerns?). I bought a bottle of this gas, made by Worthington. Have used it a couple of times now and my impression is that it is not as good as MAPP, or at least the brand I bought isn't. They didn't have the Bernzomatic version when I bought it. Here are my observations: The gas isn't as hot since it takes longer to get some coals going. The viscosity or density of the gas is different enough from MAPP that it doesn't work as well with my torch. The flame doesn't seem to burn as bright or with much intensity. When I turn the bottle up to point the flame down, the torch goes out. This never happened with MAPP.

Anyone else have similar experiences or is there something wrong with my torch? Is it just this brand or is there a difference with the Bernzomatic brand?

Comments

• Ripnem
    Ripnem Posts: 5,511
    Options
    I just made the switch from propane to mapp and noticed it isn't mapp. It burns almost identical to the propane. Pissed me right off. :angry:
  • thirdeye
    thirdeye Posts: 7,428
    Options
    Map Pro is a Propylene based gas. Map-Pro weighs less per volume, but will be sold in identical yellow cylinders as MAPP was. Map-Pro will be 14 oz per cylinder, while MAPP was 16.