Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Smoking a Fresh Ham?

Options
gt4889
gt4889 Posts: 2
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I've got a fresh ham, straight from the 4-H club and subsequently the butcher. I want to cook it on my BGE for Easter (i.e no time for home cure). I've searched the forum - many fresh ham posts - but still have a few questions.

Should I put it in a brine? One poster said it would just become pulled pork without it. Any good recipes to recommend? (besides the cola one, I've seen that a lot)

Should I also inject it? I'm a relative newbie so this would be unchartered territory for me. When? How often? Recipe? etc.?

Glaze? The family was after a honey baked ham so I'm trying to mimic as best I can. But I realize that is probably a cured ham, not smoked, correct?

I've got the recipe for Dr Chicken's double smoked ham but that seems to be for an already cooked ham. I also understand that "low and slow" is not advised for a ham. Cooking at 350 dome until internal temp of 135 seems to be the most common advice.

Any answers or additional insight would be greatly appreciated. thx!

Comments

• stike
    stike Posts: 15,597
    Options
    can't help with regard to injecting, but you can brine it. same thing as curing only without the pink salt (the actual "cure"). but you'll get some salt and other flavors into it. i started my cure friday, allowing a day for every two pounds, but mine had the curie in it.

as for becming pulled pork... it won't become pulled pork unless you go low and slow and take the thing up to about 200 degrees.