Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Standing Rib Roast/Prime Rib

Options
omahaegger
omahaegger Posts: 35
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Ok, I've relatively new to the egg world. I've had my egg for about 2 months, I've done a couple briskets and a butt and misc. burgers and steaks. But anyways, I want to try something new. I want to try a Standing Rib Roast/Prime Rib on it.

First question, what cut of meat do you use for this?? (Yes I know I'm a newbie) And how much do those usually sell for per lbs, just for planning purposes?

Second question, I've seen the recipes on NakedWhiz and thirdeyes and they don't seem to be too bad. Does anyone have a recipe they recommend?

Thanks for the help in advance

Comments

• Fidel
    Fidel Posts: 10,172
    Options
    The Mad Max method on the naked whiz site is very good and easy to follow. Many people prefer an end sear method, but I am a fan of the beginning sear method. Either will give you really good results.

You want to get a bone-in rib roast/standing rib roast. It should sell for around $6 per pound choice grade, maybe $9-11 per pound if prime grade.

The bones should be separated and tied back on. Once your roast is done put the ribs back on at 250 for another 60-90 minutes and you will have a really good treat for the next day.
  • BENTE
    BENTE Posts: 8,337
    Options
    here is one looks great::: julie can cook ;)

Beef, Prime Rib, Roast, Julie