Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

can you identify this enamel pan set?

Options
WileECoyote
WileECoyote Posts: 516
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I am still learning about cookware that will be good on the egg. Many people seem to use ceramic or enamel coated pans with good results. I came across a 3-pan set at a local flea market today. It is brand new, never used, and includes 3 different sized skillet pans with a removable handle that quickly attaches or disconnects from each pan on either side. All pieces appear to be made of solid heavy metal and coated in ceramic including the handle. The pans are brightly colored on top and black underneath. On the bottom they are marked "Made in Yugoslavia" with a symbol of two lions standing over a kettle. They also have the number 18 marked under the kettle. So my questions are:

- Will any ceramic or enamel pans work on the egg, or only certain kinds?

- Is it possible to damage the ceramic finish if cooking too long or too hot?

- Does anyone know who made this specific set? Might it have some collector value?

I paid $12 for the whole set which seemed like a good deal. I did some web research and was able to find a similar set for $25 on ebay but the ad said that their set is not marked on the bottom. Any info will help. I don't want to throw these pans on the egg if they might be valuable or will be damaged by the egg temps. Here ar some photos from the ebay ad but my pans are marked on the bottom as noted above.

yugoenamel3skilletset.jpg
yugoenamel3skilletbottomset.jpg

Comments

• BlueSmoke