Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Just got my new large BGE. Temp. help needed.

AuburnTiger
AuburnTiger Posts: 38
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I have been cooking ribs for about 10 years now and am going into my first competition finally here in Huntsville, AL at the Whistlestop Festival.

I normally use a carcoal type grill but am wanting to take the BGE out now. I have the v-rack and the plate setter. I havent tried doing them yet on there so I have a question as I have been only been cooking at higher heat. Can someone break it down on how to get to that 225-250 area for slow cooking for ribs and/or butts/briskets? I have tried and dont know how much to open both the top and bottom slits.

Any help of how to get to this level right off please let me know. Thanks!

Comments

• BigChar
    BigChar Posts: 113
    There are a couple of great resources for this - go to The Naked Whiz's website www.nakedwhiz.com also a great blog called playing with smoke and fire - www.playingwithsmokeandfire.blogspot.com they have excellent egg-centice tutorials. I can tell you from personal experience to get your egg lit, get it up to temp with all of your cookig aparatus in and let it sit for 30 minutes. Likely you will have the bottom vent open abouot 1/2 to 1 inch and the top daisy wheel half open. Good Luck!
  • Just open both the top and bottom all the way.... :laugh: :whistle:

Roll Tide

Just kidding foll the links above and you will do fine.

Lazydog B)
  • Grandpas Grub
    Grandpas Grub Posts: 14,226
    Congratulations and welcome.