Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

New BGE owner - need first dinner idea

Options
murphy11
murphy11 Posts: 23
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hey guys,

I've been obsessing about a BGE for a few years and am set to buy a demo Large BGE from smokinguitarplayer to be picked up on Thursday. Any suggestions for dinner on Friday? Also, are there any must have accessories? I'm pretty strapped for cash so can probably swing 75-100 bucks for other items I will need immediately. Thanks in advance for ideas!

Comments

• Krusty
    Krusty Posts: 77
    Options
    The accessories that I think are must haves are the platesetter (for indirect cooking) and a thermopen (to tell when your meat is done).

Spatchcock chicken is always a good first cook. Temp isn't too high and a relatively forgiving cook.

082003cSpatchcockafter.jpg
  • BENTE
    BENTE Posts: 8,337
    Options
    like krusty said platesetter first

pizza stone second is my opinion

and then when you are a little less strapped for cash get a thermopen it has really made my cooking better no more gurssing when sometrhing is done...

here is a easy recepie that you add more of what you want rather than being told

Chicken, Whole, Easy Smoky Roasted, Peter Estern

The lazy person's way to excellent smoky moist roast chicken

Ingredients:
    1 whole chicken

Preparation Directions:
    1 Clean the chicken and place it on a vertical rack or v-rack.
    2 If you like you can put some fresh rosemary, salt, pepper, garlic, lemon, etc. in the chicken cavity, but this comes out great even with nothing added.