Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Good All-Around Thermometer

Options
BigChar
BigChar Posts: 113
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Howdy All - Newbie here. Looking for some input on a good all-purpose Thermometer. I'd likely use it more for the Slow and Low cooks. I have seen a myriad of different ones out there which seems to lead me to confusion..... Thoughts?

Also, does an infrared thermo check only surface temp?

Thanks for the input -

Comments

• Jeffersonian
    Jeffersonian Posts: 4,244
    Options
    Yes, non-contact infrared only get you surface temperature.

I've used a series of consumer-grade thermocouple-based temperature devices, and haven't been overly impressed with their durability, but the Polder was probably the best of the lot. I haven't tried one yet, but others like their Maverick-brand units, too.
  • BigChar
    Options
    Thanks - I have seen that Polder name crop up often.....
  • RRP
    RRP Posts: 25,898
    Options
    Around here the name Polder is more generic than an actual brand though Polder is a true brand. There are many similar products on the market and rumor has it that all are made in just two factories overseas! That is, my Pyrex may look identical to your Polder and to someone else's Acme. Generally speaking they are a unit with 1 or 2 probes and fry at 396°.
    Re-gasketing America one yard at a time.
  • Jeffersonian
    Options
    It's fairly inexpensive ($20-25) and has decent features. Note that it's not hardened to outdoor use, so you might want to put it in a water-tight container of some sort.
  • BigChar