Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Venison advice

Options
moosebuck
moosebuck Posts: 2
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hey guys, I've been asked to smoke 2 venison hams for a party. Does anyone have a good recipe for this. Also, I've never done venison before so cooking temp, internal temp, and amount/type of smoke advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Comments

• Cpt'n Cook
    Cpt'n Cook Posts: 1,917
    Options
    I'd go light on the smoke. I would marinate it and don't go more than 135 internal or it will be tough and dry.
  • Richard Fl
    Richard Fl Posts: 8,297
    Options
    I like this way. Venison, Ham, Richard

INGREDIENTS:
    1 1 1/2 Lbs Venison, Boneless Ham
    Italian Salad Dressing
    Garlic

Preparation
    1 Marinated overnight in Italian Salad Dressing. Took out 1 hour before cooking and sprinkled garlic powder over the meat.
    Cooking
    1 BGE 350°F indirect, handful cherry wood chips. Cooked 1 hour 10 minutes for 150°F internal. Let rest for 10 minutes..

Recipe Type
    Main Dish, Meat

Recipe Source
    Source: BGE Forum, Richard, 04/30/07
  • stike
    stike Posts: 15,597
    Options
    your final temp brings up a fine point often overlooked...