Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Tri tip newb needs guidance

Options
kjed
kjed Posts: 55
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Stopped by my butcher today, and he had tri tips. Well, I've never done a tri tip before, and the only suggestion given to me by the butcher was, "cut it against the grain." Okay, duly noted. Can anyone here give me good cooking suggestions? Are tri tips good when cooked with the TRex method, or should I do something different? [p]Thanks,
Keith

Comments

• Photo Egg
    Photo Egg Posts: 12,110
    Options
    kjed,
    I love tri tip.
    I would dry rub or marinate several hours before the cook and let come up to close to room temp before starting cook.
    I like mine TRex style and pull at 130-135 depending on the size and tent with foil to rest. I also use true TRex and rest after the sear before roasting to desired temp. Try not to cook above Medium-Rare. As the butcher said, cut across the grain and watch the grain as it shifts at times.
    Darian

Thank you,
    Darian

Galveston Texas
  • BajaTom
    BajaTom Posts: 1,269
    Options
    kjed,
    I grill tri tips alot. I usually do them direct at around 500. I season with DP cowlick or a Montreal steak seasoning. I cook to an internal temp of 135 and let rest for 10 minutes. Cut across the grain so it will be tender. The Santa Maria rub is Salt, pepper, & garlic salt. Good luck, Tom

• AZRP
    AZRP Posts: 10,116
    Options
    Bajatom,
    I do mine like Tom, and flip it over after 15 minutes. -RP

• egginator
    egginator Posts: 569
    Options