Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Egg makes Ham Radio Debut

Options
Uncle Phil
Uncle Phil Posts: 669
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I am an Amateur Radio operator (KJ4HI) and every year at the end of June we take our antennas and radios to the field for a 24 hour exercise simulating emergency conditions. This training paid off as we did it for real 4 times during the hurricanes in Florida! As part of generating our own power and living in campers and tents, we also cook our own meals...Enter Egg stage left. Well, this year the guys have encouraged me to bring the Egg. How could I turn down such a devoted group of public servants? So, now what to make for 15 to 20 hungry guys? Ribs will be the main meal. I though chicken wings might be a treat or even some ABTs even though I have never made them. Any other suggestions from seasoned Eggers? Field Day is June 25 and 26 rain or shine... It always rains![p]Uncle Phil
KJ4HI

Comments

• HolySmokes
    HolySmokes Posts: 446
    Options
    Uncle Phil,[p]considering your real challenge is setting up the rigs, building an antenna farm, etc., I'd work on something you can get ready ahead of time. chix wings sounds like a great idea., and the ribs can be all set up to go early as well. I'm not sure how far ahead of time you can make the ABT's and keep them prior to cooking, but no reason you couldn't try it.[p]best, HS
    .-- .- --... --.. -.-. -.--
    wa7zcy

• Uncle Phil
    Uncle Phil Posts: 669
    Options
    HolySmokes,