Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

using a temp controller

Options
jerryp
jerryp Posts: 232
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I got my Auber Instruments temp controller in the mail yesterday and plan on doing a shoulder over night friday night. Just wondering if there's any specific way to configure the daisy wheel. If I get a 10 pounder, will an egg filled to the top of the fire ring keep burning for 15-17 hours? I've never done a shoulder that large before, so I never need more than 8-10 hours. Thanks a bunch.

Comments

• 2Fategghead
    2Fategghead Posts: 9,624
    Options
    jerryp wrote:
    I got my Auber Instruments temp controller in the mail yesterday and plan on doing a shoulder over night friday night. Just wondering if there's any specific way to configure the daisy wheel. If I get a 10 pounder, will an egg filled to the top of the fire ring keep burning for 15-17 hours? I've never done a shoulder that large before, so I never need more than 8-10 hours. Thanks a bunch.

Hey Jerry, Not sure what size egg you have. I have a large egg. I use a BBQ guru CyberQ II on occasion for some over night cooks. Keep in mind it is always good to know how to cook with your egg with out the controller. It helps when the power goes out and you have to cook the natural way. ;)

When I set my controller up I set my daisy wheel open where only a tooth pick will fall through the crack. Using my pit viper 10 cfm fan.

000_1542.jpg

I also have a damper on my 10 cfm pit viper that I set part way closed.

000_1540.jpg

100_3144.jpg

100_3140.jpg

I go with the setting below.