Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Anyone familiar w. :chicken of the woods" 'shroom?

Options
gdenby
gdenby Posts: 6,239
edited November -1 in Off Topic
Hi, all,

I'm a novice shroomer. Have found nice puff-balls. Have not found any morels. Have found, I think, both chicken of the woods, and hen of the woods.

Here's a pic of one I found today:

MaybeSulfur.jpg

Does this look like a chicken of the woods, aka a sulfur to anyone?

Shot of the gills:

SulfurGills.jpg

Pores were so small I couldn't really see any.

Smelled very mushroomey. I didn't have any bag to carry it. The woods were thick, and the ground very damp, so I needed my hands free. Shame if it is a sulfur. Was over a foot wide, and three levels thick.

Comments

• RRP
    RRP Posts: 25,888
    Options
    can I have your BGE if you eat them and you were wrong? :whistle:
    Re-gasketing America one yard at a time.
  • gdenby
    Options
    Umm, if I say yes, are you going to tell me they are O.K.? :ohmy:

Seriously, I'm pretty certain they are "Laetiporus cincinnatus" having found them growing apparently right out of the ground in an area thick with old downed trees, which is the habit. But unlike puffballs and morels, I haven't had anyone point and say "Yes, those are O.K."
  • fishlessman
    fishlessman Posts: 32,754
    Options
    try this site, i didnt die with their help :laugh:
    http://www.shroomery.org/forums/postlist.php?Cat=&Board=3&page=0
    fukahwee maine

you can lead a fish to water but you can not make him drink it
  • gdenby
    Options