Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

First ribs a disaster! Help please!

Swoop
Swoop Posts: 5
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hi everyone. I'm new to the egg, and I'm looking forward to future cooks on the egg.

I just smoked my first rack of ribs. This was my first time using the egg, and they turned out chewey. They did have a nice smoke flavor, but too overwhelming. I don't know what went wrong. I even made sure to boil them before I put them on the egg because I heard it makes them more tender. That's how I always did them on the old gasser. Could the smoking wood be to blame? I used some fresh chunks from my neighbor's grapefruit tree, so I know the wood was nice and fresh, and it gave off plenty of smoke.

Comments