Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Several questions on ribs.

Options
kybowhunter
kybowhunter Posts: 4
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hey - I am totally new to the BGE - just picked up my new Large BGE this past Sat.

So this upcoming weekend I want to smoke some baby back ribs and I have several questions.

1. Do I use direct or indirect method? I did pick up the plate setter.

2. What is the recommended dome temp and cook time?

3. I did search the forums and saw some references to the 3-1-1 method to make ribs but I cannot find anything that explains that method.

TIA!
Dan

Comments

• Chef Charles
    Options
    Welcome to the club.

Ribs are usually cooked indirect ... 250 dome.

Here is a link to Thirdeye's blog site which provides a description ... it is a great resource:

http://playingwithfireandsmoke.blogspot.com/2002/06/baby-back-rib-class.html

Tom

Tom

Charles is a mischevious feline who always has something cooking

Twin lbge's .. grew up in the sun parlor of Canada but now egging in the nation's capital

• Frank from Houma
    Options
    Here is a good tutorial

http://playingwithfireandsmoke.blogspot.com/2002/06/baby-back-rib-class.html

3-1-1 refers to foiling after three hours and then taking out of the foil for 1 hour to firm the ribs back up.

Personally - No foil zone here

240 - 250 for around 6 hours

Don't cook to time. Use the bend test to determine when they are done and then sauce for +/- 20 minutes

IMG_5984800x600.jpg

Good luck with it.
  • MA egger
    MA egger Posts: 51
    Options