Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

removing the lid

volntitan
volntitan Posts: 95
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I got a Large Egg with the long table of Xmas. I am a COMPLETE newbie and not a handy man by any means. I am going to attempt to stain/protect the cypress table that came with the egg. But the thing is too darn heavy for me to lift out safely. I removed the "innards", but thought maybe taking off the lid would make it more managable. I believe I do have the spring assisted lid BTW. How do I remove the lid (is there a step to step guide with pics? I told you I wasn't handy) and is it easy to do? Am I asking for trouble?

HELP :ermm: :woohoo: :blink:

Comments

• WokOnMedium
    WokOnMedium Posts: 1,376
    Make sure you have the white plastic brackets. Don't do anything until you have those. They are rectangular in shape and have two holes in them.
  • Celtic Wolf
    Celtic Wolf Posts: 9,773
    Get help and leave the lid alone..
  • WokOnMedium
    Wolfie has a better plan.
  • THAT WAS QUICK!

The only help I have is my wife right now. Can I not just take the two screws that are going in the black bands around the egg lid?
  • WokOnMedium
    You could. The hinge is spring loaded. If you removed the bands the proper spacing is gone unless you have those white spacers. The fit over the bolts on either side of the hinge to keep the spacing right. If they aren't there, spring snaps shut and you won't be able to put them back on.