Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Pizza Temp - why so hot?

WWSis
WWSis Posts: 1,448
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I've read many posts about high-temp pizza cooks; am now assuming this is to get the crust crispy...I am perplexed. Recognizing that I am still a newbie, I have done probably 20 pizzas already and never got the temp over 450, usually keep it about 425 and my crusts seem to be great, nicely browned, cooked evenly...I'm just not sure what the advantage is... :S Am I missing something here? :huh:

Comments

• Helps 'em rise, as the water turns to steam and forms holes in the crust. Or so I hear.

• cookn biker
    cookn biker Posts: 13,407
    Julia, your further than me by far. Are you making your own dough, or store bought?
    Thanks.
    Molly
    Colorado Springs
    "Loney Queen"
    "Respect your fellow human being, treat them fairly, disagree with them honestly, enjoy their friendship, explore your thoughts about one another candidly, work together for a common goal and help one another achieve it."
    Bill Bradley; American hall of fame basketball player, Rhodes scholar, former U.S. Senator from New Jersey
    LBGE, MBGE, SBGE , MiniBGE and a Mini Mini BGE
  • BConk
    BConk Posts: 72
    It's not really to get the crust crispy - it's to have a higher rise and a more tender crust. The idea being that the longer the crust is in the oven (or grill), the more the steam in the dough is lost.