Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Jalapenos turning Red

FrankC
FrankC Posts: 416
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hi all,

I'm a newbie gardener, and planted two jalapenos this year. They've done pretty well, yielding about 18 or more peppers. My question to all of you gardeners out there is this: Should I be picking the jalapenos before they turn red? What happens to them once they turn red? Stronger or more mild?

I hope someone can point me in the right direction. Thanks in advance!

fc

Comments

• vidalia1
    vidalia1 Posts: 7,092
    Here you go:

Jalapeños are a pod type of Capsicum. The growing period for a jalapeño plant is 70–80 days. When mature, the plant stands two and a half to three feet tall. Typically, a single plant will produce twenty five to thirty five pods. During a growing period, a plant will be picked multiple times. As the growing season comes to an end, the jalapeños start to turn red.