Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Oregano

Options
Big'un
Big'un Posts: 5,909
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I've been growing my own oregano for a few years now, but I not sure if the blossoms can be used in cooking. They hold so much fragrance and taste good, but I'm just not sure. Anybody an expert on oregano(not the stuff that folks try to pass off as oregano :whistle: )?
Thanks In advance(I hope)!

Comments

• vidalia1
    vidalia1 Posts: 7,092
    Options
    No advice on oregano but how did the fig picking go? Did you get enough? Ours still aren't ready yet.... :angry:
  • Richard Fl
    Richard Fl Posts: 8,297
    Options
    Don't think they would be bad for you. Try some and give to a neighbor to sample. I don't smoke, but have been using the flower petals off my purple basil for years and love them.

100_2240.jpg
  • gdenby
    gdenby Posts: 6,239
    Options
    I've got oregano too. Haven't thought to try the flowers. Have eaten marjoram flowers, which is sometimes called sweet oregano. Also eat mint and thyme flowers. Tried sage, and they were to hard, sort of woody. I'd try a bit, myself.

Ah, wait, !google!

http://whatscookingamerica.net/EdibleFlowers/EdibleFlowersMain.htm

Yup, they're O.K.
  • Big'un
    Options