Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Considering a BGE - Advice?

Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hi all!

First off, apologies if this gets asked a lot. I tried to search back a few pages, but my internet is soooo slow (.13mbps) I gave up on page 5 and figured I'd just ask here.

I'm from Lynnwood, WA. I've been wanting to do my own smoking, and my mom has sort of caught my passion (I'm a college student at WWU who is home for the summer). After doing a ton of research, the BGE is probably our first choice because it has a good reputation and a lot of versatility (our grill is broken, we don't have an oven... no, we're not poor, we just moved into a fixer-upper a few months ago).

But we have a few questions, and I figured some eggheads could help us with them.

1.) Do any of you wish you'd gotten a SMALLER size? We wanted a medium for the price, but after going and looking at it in person, we think the medium is borderline. We'd probably never cook for more than 5-6 people, but the large looks much bigger, and the medium might not work well for small crowds.