Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Table - Composite Wood

Ribhead
Ribhead Posts: 123
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
My next project is to get my large egg in a table!

Was wondering if anyone has experience with builiding a table out of composite wood such at TREK? I have no experience with this stuff! Seems like many people talk about cutting out the hole in the wood for the egg to fit in to - then sanding and routing! just not sure how this would work with composite wood! Seems like the cut would have to be perfect!

It would be nice to not have to worry about maintaining the wood!

Seems like I read a recent post about this!

Thanks

Comments

• Fidel
    Fidel Posts: 10,172
    It would probably work, but beware the heat tolerance of the manufactured decking materials. That stuff cuts like butter with the right blades, but I would be concerned about heat exposure and durability.
  • Citizen Q
    Citizen Q Posts: 484
    I'm a building contractor and I wouldn't recommend composites for decking, never mind an Egg table. It has no strucural stability so it a can't be used for the frame or support, and they are all made with plastics and resins that will not hold up under any exposure to heat, most of these products warp under mild exposure to sunlight.
    Stick with pressure treated or cedar for your frame and quality outdoor hard woods such as mahogany, teak or ipe for your horizontal surfaces and trim.
    Porcelain tile and natural stone are also excellent choices, just be sure to use the proper latex additives when mixing the thinset mortar.
  • Ribhead