Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Millionth Turkey Question...Help!

Options
mookie
mookie Posts: 26
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Recent bout of insomnia...been on the forum researching turkey methodology for the past two and a half hours and am more confused than ever! I am still a newbie and am "chicken" to try a whole bird on my medium egg...I still have trouble getting the temperature regulated on the egg! The lowest I've been able to get it to is 350, even with the tamper (?) almost shut...anyway, any input is appreciated for T-day. I thought I'd do a breast on the egg, and a whole bird in the oven. I also need to do a small ham (hubby not a turkey fan) on the egg. Plan to buy a plate setter to help with indirect cooking, but beyond that I am clueless! Any input? (outside of telling me to get some sleep...yawn!)
Stacey

Comments

• mad max beyond eggdome
    Options
    never fear, mad max to the rescue. . here is everything you need to know for doing your turkey on the egg. . .. and on wednesday and thursday i'll be posting my hotline number and taking phone calls if you need direct and instant help!!!

http://www.nakedwhiz.com/madmaxcentral/madmaxcentral.htm
  • BHE1
    BHE1 Posts: 205
    Options
    Stacey,

Max is right, don't fear especially when you take a look at his tutorial. I will tell you I am relatively new to egging and did a dry run on the egg for Thanksgiving using Max's directions. The turkey was outstanding but the gravy was even better!!!! You can do this!!!
  • mookie
    Options