Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

**SOS** IN MIDDLE OF COOK, COVER WON'T CLOSE

remdog
remdog Posts: 22
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
what do i need to do to adjust the cover mechanism? the whole mechanism is moving a bit when I open the lid and the when I try to close it I have to sort of pull the cover to one side for it to close completely on the seal. I've been using my grill for a couple of years and have never adjusted, and of course this has to happen to me now that I'm 7 hours into a slow cook of pork & beef ribs, chicken & veal. HELP!! :ohmy:

Comments

• Darnoc
    Darnoc Posts: 2,661
    First thing that i can think of is to close the dome and tighten the nuts that are on the upper and lower bands.
  • Be CAREFUL - sounds like you need to try to get it closed and aligned as best you can (try not to fully open it). Then tighten your band bolts and hinge bolts.

Good luck!
  • i suspect one or more of your bolts are lose...if it it the band bolts you are liable to flip the dome right off your egg. do not lift it again center it and check all bolts for tightness.
    band bolts should be checked and tightened regularly the bolt should be tightened to bent.
    if you don't understand the bent part i can post a pic

CAREFUL no diasters on eggfest day
    bill
  • Close the lid , line it up, and tighten both the top and bottom bands. I just don't know if the egg being warm will matter? good luck, Brett
  • remdog
    yes please post pictures what I need to do --I'ma great cook but I ain't no hadyman :sick:
  • Stanley
    Stanley Posts: 623