Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

What is a first good recipe, for the 1st time

Options
Big Papa
Big Papa Posts: 220
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Picking up and seting the Large BGE up today.
WHat is a good start out recipe to try for a Newbie?

I am a Chef and know how to cook and grill.
I just need some pointers on the BGE style.

thanks for your help.

Chef C

Comments

• Rascal
    Rascal Posts: 3,923
    Options
    Cheeck out the cookbook/recipes option at the top of the page for some good ideas. Happy Eggin'!
  • rockytopsc
    Options
    I started easy: hamburgers.
    Now in 3 weeks have tried: steak, pizza, drunk chicken, wings, etc.
    Today we will try a pork tenderloin.
  • pouchman
    Options
    Chef C, I took am in the industry, welcome! It may take you a a couple times before you feel comfortable with regulating the temps. Depending on what kind of lump you use, will determine how fast it burns. There are a lot of brands out there & they all burn differently. Some of the guys on this web site have reviews on lump (check the (Naked Wiz web page) he has done an unbelievable job, reviewing lump with pictures!)
    I would suggest chicken. I like to get skin on breasts, marinade them in Italian Dressing. I then cook them direct, skin down to get a nice crispy skin, The I put my plate setter in, cool down the egg to 250 ish & let the magic of convection work. The breast come out so juicy, you can fill up cups of juices!
    Enjoy! Where do you work & live?
    Jeff