Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

pre-baking baby back ribs

Options
deepsouth
deepsouth Posts: 1,796
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
i'm a newbie barbeque'er, so i'm always seeking out tips...... before i did baby back ribs the first time, my father said i should season them up good, wrap them ni foil and bake them between 45 minutes and an hour and fifteen minutes, which would lessen the cooking time and tenderize the ribs.

i then unwrap the ribs, re-season them and put cook them indirectly on the BGE until they look like they are supposed to.

this seems to work pretty well, but i'm wondering if there is a downside to it??????

Comments

• Bacchus
    Bacchus Posts: 6,019
    Options
    The BGE is a far superior cooking vessel than an oven, in many peoples opinion anyway. It will hold in more moisture, and add more flavor. There should be no reason to pre-bake. Souns like that may have been a method used with a cheapo grill.
  • fishlessman
    fishlessman Posts: 32,741
    Options
    you might get some negatives about baking them, but if you like them then they're good. you can bake them in the egg as well and alot do with the 311 method. best thing to do is try all the methods and find the one you like, it could be doing what your doing now.
    fukahwee maine

you can lead a fish to water but you can not make him drink it
  • civil eggineer
    civil eggineer Posts: 1,547
    Options
    If it works for you go with it but there is no need to use the oven cook them in the egg in foil.
  • deepsouth
    Options
    forgive me, but what is the 311 method?