Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

tenderloin suggestions

RustyEgg
RustyEgg Posts: 25
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Need your advice on cooking a full tenderloin; having family over for a Father's Day dinner. We picked a full tenderloin yesterday from Sam's Club but not sure how to prepare and cook.

Many Thanks in advance.
RustyEgg

Comments

• Richard Fl
    Richard Fl Posts: 8,297
    Here is one way.

Beef, Tenderloin, Whole, Roasted Shallots, Bacon and Port, Ohio Boy in DC

Best recipe I ever found...thanks to epicurious...I've been preparing this for 4 years now, will do it on the egg for the first time this year.

INGREDIENTS:
    2 each 3 to 3 1/4 lb beef tenderloins (large ends), trimmed
    1 1/2 lbs large shallots (about 24), halved lengthwise, peeled
    3 Tbs olive oil
    6 cups canned beef broth
    1 1/2 cups tawny Port
    1 Tbs tomato paste
    2 tsp dried thyme
    7 bacon slices, chopped
    6 Tbs (3/4 stick) butter
    1 1/2 Tbs all purpose flour
    1 large bunch watercress

Procedure
    1 Position rack in center of oven and preheat to 375F. In 9-inch-diameter pie pan, toss shallots with oil to coat.
    2 Season with salt and pepper. Roast until shallots are deep brown and very tender, stirring occasionally, about 30 minutes.
    3 Boil broth and Port in large saucepan until reduced to 3 3/4 cups, about 30 minutes. Whisk in tomato paste.
    4 (Shallots and broth mixture can be made 1 day ahead. Cover separately; chill.)