Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Newbie here - love my Egg and new Outdoor Kitchen

Options
givehim6
givehim6 Posts: 22
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Newbie here - been lurking around here for a couple weeks and I want to say thanks for all the terrific information I have learned about Egging. I look forward to learning more and hopefully sharing some of my experiences.

We have nearly finished a complete indoor kitchen exansion/renovation project that included the addition of an outdoor cooking area and patio. It was important to me that we create a covered area for ouddoor cooking that I could utilize in any weather. Since they had to reconfigure the roof anyway for the indoor kitchen expansion, who not simply add a few more feet to the screened-in porch and have a place for me to grill or slow cook protected from the weather. Once you start spending this kind of money what's a few more bucks anyway?? :S

The pic below shows the nearly finished product. The hood is a 60" Vent-A-Hood that moves 1,200 CFMs. It does a great job keeping the smoke off the ceiling and out of the adjacent screened-in porch. The light from the four 50 watt halogen bulbs is tremendous. It is amazing how well one can cook when they can actually see what they are cooking! :laugh: