Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

DigiQ2 v. Stoker

Options
UglyEgg
UglyEgg Posts: 18
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I am new to egging and actually will be picking my new large BGE up at the Texas Eggfest. I am very interested in the temperature control systems and am looking to order one very soon. After reading the reviews from Naked Whiz I'm not sure which temperature control system to purchase. I really want input from the Egghead Forum on which you use and why. What make one better than the other. Like I said I am ready to order, I just want the Egg experts to give me their opinions.

Thanks in advance.

Ugly

Comments

• Grandpas Grub
    Grandpas Grub Posts: 14,226
    Options
    Uglyegg,

Congratulations and welcome.

I had the same problem as you when trying to decide. I ended up buying the DigiQ2 then some months later I also purchased the Stoker. TNW site was great and helped but I really wanted more information.

I was really interested in computer monitoring/control of the cooks.

My reasoning to getting the Q2 1st after a long search and a lot of questions.
    I wanted the higher temp probes - less chance of damaging to the probes. Smaller size and more water restance. I was not sure I wanted to deal with the chip inside the probes on the Stoker.

After owning the q2 and several cooks, it is extremely simple (easy to use) and a very quick setup. I ended up using it more than I thought I would. With that said I now only use either unit for longer cooks or cooks where I might be away from the egg.