Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Fatties over Boston Butt?

Options
BlueRidge
BlueRidge Posts: 84
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
HAPPY FRIDAY!

Tomorrow is a big day in Carolina Country! Duke and Carolina meet again and if the gods smile down upon us the Devils will pull it off again! :evil: If not I hope the 16 pounds of boston butt a la Edler Ward will be enough to keep me safe!

I have never tried a fattie before and want to give it a go. I picked up a Jimmy Dean "hot" sausage roll (1lb) to try. I want to simply place a grid on top of the butts and set the fattie on top of that... will that work ok? If so...do you recommend cooking it at the beginning or the end of the butt's cook? I will probably stuff it with something but I am not that far ahead yet! Any and all suggestions welcome!

As always, thanks.

Comments

• Fidel
    Fidel Posts: 10,172
    Options
    That will work just fine, but I would try to put it off to one side of the butts. Fatties tend to render a pretty good bit and I think it would add some of the hot sausage taste to the butt(s) it was over. If you are cooking on a large you should be able to move the 2 eight pounders far enough apart to squeeze a fattie between them or beside them. Later in the cook the butts will have shrunk up enough to make plenty of space for you.

At 250 a fattie should take about 2 hours or so to get done.
  • NibbleMeThis
    NibbleMeThis Posts: 2,295
    Options
    I would do the fattie around the middle of the pork butt for one reason.....snacking! At that point you'll be starving and need something to eat ;)