Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Smoked cheese

Options
"Sparky"
"Sparky" Posts: 6,024
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Any tips on setting up my small egg at 80 degrees to smoke cheese?I know that Bill did it the other day and it looked great.I have never tried to get the temp that low before.How long does it take? :)

Comments

• egret
    egret Posts: 4,170
    Options
    This should steer you in the right direction. You'll have to, obviously, make some adjustments for the small :
    http://www.eggheadforum.com/archives/2007/messages/446617.htm
  • The Naked Whiz
    Options
    smokedcheese.jpg

In addition to what egret showed us in his post, I did a web page based on what he taught us. (He forgot to tell my friend about wrapping it before putting it in the fridge, lol!) Here's a link:

Smoking Cheese
    The Naked Whiz
  • "Sparky"
    Options
    Thanks egret,that was very helpful.I may need to do it in my medium,since that's the only plate setter that I have right now.Does the ice last the whole hour or do you need to add more?
  • egret
    Options
    Hey Doug,
    Did you ever get your wife's refrigerator squared away, what with the smell and all??! :woohoo:
  • "Sparky"
    Options
    Thank you Whiz,I can't wait to try it. :)
  • egret
    Options
    No, it'll last for an hour or more. It would be easier for you to do on the medium, but, it certainly can be done on the small with a reasonable indirect setup......
  • lowercasebill
    Options