Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

quick help on buttermilk

char buddy
char buddy Posts: 562
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I've decided to soak my chicken wings in buttermilk before doing the Chef R.D. Hot Wings tonight. Problem is I have never done a butter milk soak before. Anybody got any quick advice on what to do? I have 15 to 20 wings and a quart of buttermilk?[p]

Comments

• RRP
    RRP Posts: 25,880
    char buddy, my wifey has been doing the buttermilk soak for years and years before frying chicken and it's just a matter of soaking the chicken pieces. Nothing scientific, and yes it does make a difference.
    Re-gasketing America one yard at a time.
  • Buttermilk will give it a smoother flavor & tenderize the meat.
    enjoy

• char buddy, Hey,, buttermilk is my invention. Yall keep using it and never even call it K.O.Cbuttermilk. :) Just foolin wid yall. It is a great thing. You saw what it does for my grandmother.:)

• Sundown
    Sundown Posts: 2,980
    King-O-Coals,[p]Kin we see dat picture of your Grandma again???! Please!

• Granny.jpg
    <p />Okay, just to prove it,, here is the pic of my grandmother again for you newbies. She is 92 years old now and she uses buttermilk as a morning face wash. JJ always gets mad when I show her, but I understand that he has started washing his face with buttermilk in the morning if no one is watching. :) Just kidding JJ. I know buttermilk is miraculous, but it has it's limitations in rejuvenation abilities.