Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Filet Minon strip

Options
Eggmeister-disabled
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
My butcher requires that I purchase the entire filet minon. Do I cut it into 1 inch steaks? Or smoke the whole thing? If I smoke the whole thing, how do I go about this? I am a newbie with 5 butts under my belt and two ribeye steaks.
Thanks

Comments

• Memphis
    Memphis Posts: 144
    Options
    Eggmeister, You should have a whole tenderloin, somewhere around 5 lbs. 1st thing you need to do is trim it up. There is a site (I think some one here will point you the way) called "Ask the Butcher" it will show you how to trim / clean up the tender. Then you can either roast/grill it whole or slice it into fillets. If you slice go at least 2 inches. If you roast it - I like to sear around 700 deg. on all sides then let it rest 15 minutes then grill at around 400 till 125 deg in the middle. TREX works on steaks as well as roasts !!

• Eggmeister-disabled
    Options
    Memphis,[p]
    I did TRex on some ribeyes. I have some Raising the Steaks that will be here by Wed. Can I use the Trex method with Raising the Steaks with individual Filets?[p]Eggmeister

• fieroguy
    fieroguy Posts: 777
    Options
    Eggmeister,
    Local market had whole tenderloins on sale this past weekend...Cut up into three roasts and two 2 1/2" steaks.
    Cooked one of the roasts and vacuum sealed the rest for
    future consumption. Dusted with Raising the Steaks, applied
    a coating of EVOO, seared, installed the grill extender,