Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Brisket and low cooking temps

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I have been using my BGE for about 2 years now and I praise it every time I use. One thing I still haven't been able to do is to maintain a very low temp of 220 - 230 degrees. I made a 10 pound brisket 3 weeks ago and the best I could do was 275 degrees dome temp. The brisket cooked in about 10 hours and was not dried out or over done. [p]I am planning to do a 20 pounder in about about a week, so I am concerned with the additional cooking time it will dry out. [p]What do I need to do to get the temps down to the 220 range? [p]As it is right now, my daisy wheel on the dome is barely open as is the lower vent door. [p]Any suggestions would be appreciated.[p]RossRich

Comments

• CampCook
    CampCook Posts: 157
    Options
    rossrich,
    I can't comment on the adviseability of going for 220 degrees for a brisket but i can tell you I was able to hold 174 degrees for about 48 hours. At that point there was plenty of lump left but there was a burn hole down the center that extinguished. This was done with a full load of lump, a well established fire and a Guru set to its lowest temp.
    I was smoking chilies at the time.
    Dave

• Unknown
    Options
    CampCook, don't let the temp get higher than 225* and then start choking down; it takes a long time to cool it down. For 225* my opening at the bottom vent is only open enough to slip a nickel in, i.e. almost totally closed.

• Hustling Hare
    Hustling Hare Posts: 105
    Options