Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Funny - 21 pound Turkey - Small Egg

Daryl
Daryl Posts: 27
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Well, I instantly fell in love with my Large Egg that I am just learning to use. Today, I bought a small egg to take camping this weekend. The turkey, thawing in the fridge is right at 21 lbs. It sits about 8" tall, and is about 13" long, with it's legs tucked as packed. Just for kicks, I pulled the frozen bird out and tossed it in the small egg. It fits fine. The lid closes completely, and I do not think it touches the shell. My question is this... Why not? The marketing information for the small egg says 10-12 pound turkey. Clearly the Large egg is a better fit.... With the small egg, indirect cooking, and a turkey sitter are clearly out of the question, but, I can't see anything wrong with a slow roast, say about 275F direct, for say... Seven Hours.... Somebody stop me if I am about to embarass myself ;-)[p]

Comments

• JJ
    JJ Posts: 951
    Daryl,
    You will many responces. My choice is 350* indirect (drip pan) with 20 min per pd as a rule of thumb with 160-170* for the breast meat or 180* for the thigh.

• Nature Boy
    Nature Boy Posts: 8,687
    Daryl,