Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

OT -- Garden Help

Options
poster
poster Posts: 1,172
The last 2 years my garden seems to be over run with weeds and poor crops. Did some testing this year (DIY kit) and found the soil to have a ph of 7.25 but deficient in Nitrogen, Potassium, and Phosphorus. Looking at fertilizers, would i be best with a 10-10-10 as all three levels are low? Also how long after fertilizing can i plant? This isn't a raised bed but a 34x14 garden. Should i till it in? I have never used the stuff before honestly, but am hoping to get some better results this year.

Comments

• Gulfcoastguy
    Gulfcoastguy Posts: 6,297
    Options
    Till once or twice, broadcast the fertilizer and then till it in. This fall cover it with a thick layer of hardwood leaves. Till them in the next spring.
  • Langner91
    Langner91 Posts: 2,120
    Options
    When I gardened, I also tilled the "green" matter in at the end of the season.  Some people pull all the vegetation out and discard or burn.  I tilled it all back in and it breaks down over the winter.

For weeds, I always put one layer of newspaper down and covered it with grass clippings from the yard (as long as there was no weed killer on the grass).  The grass acts to hold the moisture in and the newspaper keeps the weeds at bay.  The newspaper breaks down over the summer, and I simply tilled it in in the fall with the grass clippings and green material.

All of that and a healthy offering of miracle grow!
    Clinton, Iowa
  • ColtsFan
    ColtsFan Posts: 6,342
    Options