Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Fire was dying during smoking

Options
Hi all eggheads, 

I’m an egg newbie and so happy I found this forum. I have learnt so much here!

First time doing overnight smoke pork butt. I put the butt in around 11:00pm and was aiming around 250-275°F. I woke up around 7:00am and noticed the temp was dropping. I didn’t mess with it and hoped it would go back up. Until it dropped to 215, I thought it was out of charcoal so I opened it up and took the food/plate setter out. 

I found there was a hole in the middle of the charcoals and the fire was dying. Charcoals around the center were barely burnt. I gave a good stirred and opened the top and bottom wide open to let the temp to catch up. Then the temp stayed steadily for 4 more hours until I pulled the butt out at 200 IT. 

Have any of you experienced this? Is that normal or did I do something wrong? How to avoid this situation?

Thanks in advance. 

Answers

• kl8ton
    kl8ton Posts: 5,429
    Options
    This happens once in a while. Your fire burned straight down.  Sometimes a fluke.  You can intentionally load your lump a certain way. I'm just a dump and light guy.  
    Large, Medium, MiniMax, & 22, and 36" Blackstone
    Grand Rapids MI
  • GregW
    GregW Posts: 2,677
    Options