Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Turkey Medium BGE

Hi All - Hosting a friendsgiving at my apartment next weekend and obviously want to do the turkey on the egg. I have never done it before so I was wondering if anyone had any experience on what size bird would fit on a medium? Was going to start looking at my options this weekend. We aren't having a huge gathering, probably 9-10 people so I don't think I need a huge turkey. 

Any other general tips? Do I need a roasting rack/pan? Will that have an effect on the size I can fit (I would think the answer is yes). 

Thanks in advance!
MED - Manhattan

Comments

• northGAcock
    northGAcock Posts: 15,164
    If you can, try to find a foil wrapped boneless chicken breast. Restaurant Depot, or meat markets can order for you. Perfect size for your medium and crowd. Bonus.....no bones and simple to carve. Downside, no dark meat.
    Ellijay GA with a Medium & MiniMax

Well, I married me a wife, she's been trouble all my life,
    Run me out in the cold rain and snow
  • fishlessman
    fishlessman Posts: 32,665
    i believe bge used to state 18 on a medium but i think a 14 pounder would be a better route. farm birds/heritage are longer so stick with a supermarket bird. take the thermo out before closing the dome, to many thermos get bent hitting the turkey, you can make a spacer for the thermo to make more room for it
    fukahwee maine

you can lead a fish to water but you can not make him drink it