Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

My BGE has a leak!!

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I've been cooking on my egg---a large with auto-lock---for a couple of months and I've been noticing smoke coming out from one side under the dome top. No wonder I've had a difficult time keeping really low temps.
Last night after turning out some incredibly awesome ribs, I braved the cold Iowa night, flashlight in hand, and found that there's about a one-eighth inch or so gap between the top and base on that side--for about five inches. the gasket thing looks a bit charred and there even smoke marks on the dome.
Anybody else had this problem?
I had disassembled the egg to move it. Could I have tightened the auto-lock band too tight that would have caused the gap?
How do I get a snug fit?
Any ideas out there in eggland?

Comments

• djm5x9
    djm5x9 Posts: 1,342
    Options
    Q-Ball:[p]As new as your egg is, you probably need to loosen the bands, seat the dome, and retighten the bands. Check out the condition of your gasket to make sure you have not fried it.

• King-O-Coals
    Options