Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Cast Iron Trivet

Fireball
Fireball Posts: 354
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I have been using a Lodge Cast Iron Trivet in my eggs for about 9 months. I just noticed that one has cracked starting from the outside edge and ruuning for about an inch toward the center. Has this happened to any one else? Just wondering? Thanks
Fireball

Comments

• RRP
    RRP Posts: 25,887
    Fireball, yup mine did the same. As for my small I use a cast iron floor drain with 5 extra holes drilled in the center (can't leave anything alone) and that works fine. Got it from a True Value. Next time I'll do the same for Mr Big instead of the Lodge trivet.

Re-gasketing America one yard at a time.
  • GaDawg
    GaDawg Posts: 178
    Fireball,
    Just checked mine, no crack. Also about 9 months
    old. Sorry about the empty posting.[p]Chuck

• Tim M
    Tim M Posts: 2,410
    Fireball,[p]Hmm,Mine has been in for almost 2 years. I have not pulled it out to see it for about a year (I clean my Egg about yearly) and I just keep adding new lump so I rarely see the trivet. I will have to look. I can't imagine it cracking. [p]Tim
  • Big Murth
    Big Murth Posts: 350
    Fireball,