Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

OT - Wood Pellet Fireplace Inserts

Hub
Hub Posts: 927
We are getting ready to custom build a lake front home.  I'm going to put in a large high efficiency wood burning fireplace in the living room and outdoor kitchen area.  I need something lower maintenance for the master bedroom and possibly the master bathroom.  I don't really like gas fireplaces, and wood burning seems to much for a bedroom or bathroom.  I've been researching wood pellet inserts such as the one pictured, but I have no experience with them at all.  Any of you guys have one or have used one? Care to share your thoughts? Much appreciated.

Beautiful and lovely Villa Rica, Georgia

Comments

• NPHuskerFL
    NPHuskerFL Posts: 17,629
    edited March 2019
    My Aunt's brother uses a few of these in their home in Nebraska.  It works great. Feed corn is quite sustainable and the heat generated is impressive. And from what I saw it was very efficient.

http://cornstoves.com.bizhosting.com/cornstoves_com_index10.html
    LBGE 2013 & MM 2014
    Die Hard HUSKER & BRONCO FAN
    Flying Low & Slow in "Da Burg" FL
  • Hub
    I had no idea that there were inserts and stoves made to burn corn.  Wouldn't corn be more costly than wood pellets?
  • littlerascal56
    littlerascal56 Posts: 2,104
    You see a lot of pelletstoves in Kansas, as pellets are cheap.  Funny thing is pellets are in short supply right now, due to the severe cold we have been experiencing.