Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

What's the order you do things at start of a cook?

Newbie here. My first step is to light the fire starter and let it burn for 10-15 minutes with the grill open and bottom vent open. What I am trying to figure out is ... what is next after you close the grill and put the vents halfway?

1. Do you put your deflector plate on and let temps rise to 25-50 degrees of your target temp before you mess with vents?
2. Or before you close the grill, do you go ahead and put on the deflector plate, grate AND the food?

I've been doing No. 1, but I feel No. 2 may be right because opening up the grill multiple times makes the fire harder to control. Thoughts? Thanks!

Comments

• Chris8938
    Chris8938 Posts: 156
    I always get the fire started, then put all the internals as soon as possible.  That way the plate setter doesn't become a huge heat sink trying to get it up to temp later.  Once fire is going and internals are on, close up and wait to come to temp, closing down vents 50ish degrees before set point.  I would NOT put food on right away until you have established a good, clean fire with nice blue smoke.  Hope that helps!.
    XL BGE, Lg BGE, MiniMax BGE, Mini BGE

Appleton, WI 
  • Jstroke
    Jstroke Posts: 2,600
    Fill egg to the brim, light fire with weedburner, add smoking wood and internals, keep cap off and vent wide open until withen 50 degrees and smoke clears. Adjust vents, add food. Watch temp periodically while working in the shop.