Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

one large turkey breast or tow smaller ones

Options
We have 12 guests for Thanksgiving. I am planning to cook turkey breast on XL.   Should I try to get 2 about 6-7 pounds each or one about 12 pounds.  I am thinking the 2 smaller may be juicer when cooked.  Any suggestions
I XL  and 1 Weber Kettle  And 1 Weber Q220       Outside Alvin, TX-- South of Houston

Comments

• ryantt
    ryantt Posts: 2,532
    edited November 2018
    Options
    I’m no expert but finding a 12lb Breast might be a challenge.  Even if I found it I would prefer to have 2 smaller ones, more manageable cook time, also I could have 2 different experiences for my guest, 1 traditional the other something different.   Maybe I would cook it with a cranberry and  fig glaze (which is awsome) or go with citrus notes the options are endless 
    XL BGE, KJ classic, Joe Jr, UDS x2 

• Jeremiah
    Jeremiah Posts: 6,412
    Options
    12 lb breast? Things really are bigger in Texas huh?
    Slumming it in Aiken, SC. 
  • northGAcock
    northGAcock Posts: 15,164
    Options
    First, let me acknowledge that I am basically lazy. When it comes to a Turkey, I hate the bones, grease and carving. I take a bit of a different approach. One that might work well for you with your number of attendees.