Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Trouble lowering the temperature

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hello! I am new to grilling and I just got a BGE. I am trying to do a brisket, the problem is I need to get the temp down to 250, and I am having some severe difficulty with that. Can anyone tell me a good way to get the temperature down to 250? It seems to just stop around 500 when I leave a crack open in the top and bottom vents.

Comments

• Celtic Wolf
    Celtic Wolf Posts: 9,773
    Options
    Jon-Robert,[p] It is easier to stop it while it's going up then it is to cool it off. If I assume you have a Large BGE the folks here say the bottom vent on the large should be about 1/8 to 1/4 of an inch open and the daisy wheel darn near closed.[p]I have an XL and my opening dimensions are slightly higher
  • TRex
    TRex Posts: 2,714
    Options
    Jon-Robert,[p]Check and make sure your gasket is sealing as well, and make sure your thermometer is calibrated.[p]TRex
  • Grillicious
    Options